First time flying – Delta needs to get lost

I had the chance to take a flight for the first time this past weekend when I had to fly from Portland, OR to Charlotte, NC. The reason? A close family who had been friends with mine for many years just recently lost their father in a pretty graphic manner. Naturally, they need to grieve and I was going to help them with the process as things like that are which I have a bit more experience then them. So the couple weeks we had to plan for this went smoothly. I had gotten some nice luggage from good will for about eight dollars I had my confirmation set, and all I had to do was get my ticket in the airport before getting on my flight. Before, anyone asks I only have a card from a small credit union that just seemed to not work in withdrawing the money from the account. After a talk with my card carrier’s customer service I also let them know I would be going on a trip and that if usage popped up in those places for those days it would be okay.

Well, going to the airport I had to go straight from work. I got off at 5 while my flight was at 11, but I had never gone and if I was too early then it wouldn’t be too bad. take into account three hours which seemed to be the average before hand one should arrive as well as me going by transit all looked good to go.

Except it didn’t. You see with all this going on this was not some spa I was going to. They’re close friends, people who had known me since I was still in grade school with everything that happened in my family they were a group that were there. So when I find out that not only was my confirmation not recorded in their system, not only was I called a liar by the person behind the counter, not only did I have to explain the situation because I just did not have the money for a seat because the refund had not come back. I couldn’t have gotten another ticket on the flight if I tried because it was supposedly ‘overbooked’ I know Delta is a major company and they will not even care about this, because this is the status quo. This was the education to someone like me, because the next time this happens where your people decides to treat others so disrespectfully. I hope you find yourself in the same position. One where someone who you helped grow, and one you have been around for so long needs your help only for someone to spit on the gravity of the situation.

To hear their young teenage daughter Jessica cry knowing because in a situation I was needed that I would not show. After so many other situations she was made aware of that I would go through such troubles to be where I was needed when I was needed just to finally be stopped. It hurt me, and for your handling of the situation I would wish harm if I could find it in me to commit the deed myself.

For everything that happened, and for all the pain it caused I still cannot. I would have loved to go back to a point where I was fighting daily just so I could return the pain that was given from an emotional form in to a physical one. It’s not even hard for someone like me because I have been fighting almost every day of my life.

So I learned what it was like to fly and personally I would rather take a beating then deal with the rude service, poor pricing, and idiocy in almost every facet of the experience. I want to own a business because things like that where such poor standards are normal is something I know I can crack. You can make money while providing positive enjoyable service, and give people time to sort their emotions while they move forward.

In short: Dear Delta, I hope you have to be in the same position I was in. I would love to see how you handle it.

Now, whenever I get to sleep I hear the crying of a young girl because someone she trusted so implicitly to help in her and her family’s time of need to look on the brighter side will not be there when their family needed it most. The murmurs of my close friend trying to get her to stop crying while explaining that there I was nothing I could do.

Leave a Reply

